About the Bush For Life Program

The Bush For Life program was started in 1994 to help people take practical steps to conserve our bushland.  Bushland remnants, fragments of the original vegetation that covered the state before clearance, are the jewel in the crown of our biodiversity, it’s where the most precious plants, birds and animals are found.

Download our program information brochure here to read more about what we do.

What is Bush Regeneration?

Bush Regeneration is not just planting trees; in fact it’s not about planting at all.  It’s about looking after the valuable remnants of bushland we still have, and returning them to health.

Bush For Life teaches and practices the Minimal Disturbance Method (sometimes called the Bradley Method) of Bush Regeneration.  This method helps the bush to heal itself by encouraging natural regeneration; it’s slow but sure, ensuring there is no inadvertent damage from well meaning but misguided activities.

Bush Regeneration Principles


The first step to becoming a volunteer, or learning how to care for your own bushland property, is to come along to a Bushcare Workshop.


After the workshop you will have the option to either adopt a bushcare site of your own, or take part in our extensive program of group activities, called Bush Action Teams (BATs).

Check out our new Bush For Life videos:

Listen to volunteer stories about adopting a Bush For Life site Here.

OR see what happens on a Bush Action Team day Here!


We have over 300 Bush For Life sites across South Australia.  Bush For Life sites are on:

  • Council bushland reserves
  • Private land
  • Bushland owned by participating corporate landowners

Sites and Projects

Our Partners

The Bush For Life program collaborates with and is supported financially by a wide range of government and corporate partners, including





Corporate Partners

  • Aboriginal Lands Trust
  • Office for Recreation and Sport
  • SA Water
  • Department for Transport, Energy and Infrastructure
  • ElectraNet

Local Government Partners:

  • Adelaide City Council
  • Adelaide Hills Council
  • Alexandrina Council
  • The Barossa Council
  • City of Burnside
  • Clare & Gilbert Valleys Council
  • Town of Gawler
  • City of Holdfast Bay
  • Light Regional Council
  • District Council of Mallala
  • City of Marion
  • City of Mitcham
  • District Council of Mt Barker
  • Rural City of Murray Bridge
  • City of Onkaparinga
  • City of Playford
  • City of Pt Adelaide & Enfield
  • City of Tea Tree Gully
  • City of Victor Harbor
  • Wakefield Regional Council
BFL Program Flier_web.pdf948.36 KB